Science Sunday – Sharks

sharkRead About It

Florida Museum at the University of Florida https://www.floridamuseum.ufl.edu/discover-fish/sharks/
Smithsonian Institute https://ocean.si.edu/ocean-life/sharks-rays/sharks
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration https://www.fisheries.noaa.gov/feature-story/dive-shark-week-2021
10 Facts About Great White Sharks https://www.natgeokids.com/uk/discover/animals/sea-life/great-white-sharks/
Georgia Aquarium: https://www.georgiaaquarium.org/sharks/

Watch, Listen & Learn

University of Oregon’s Museum of Natural & Cultural History. Includes a shark storytime read-aloud, instructions for an Ocean Suncatcher craft and an Ocean Sensory Bag, a shark matching game, and a link to an Aquarium Shark Cam! https://mnch.uoregon.edu/learn/little-wonders-sharks
Monterey Bay Aquarium Shark Cam: https://www.montereybayaquarium.org/animals/live-cams/shark-cam
Georgia Aquarium Ocean Voyager Webcam: https://www.georgiaaquarium.org/webcam/ocean-voyager/
Ryan’s World: Learn About Sharks for Kids (for younger kids): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gfnIdm1GlIY
National Geographic: Sharks 101 (for older kids): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4HGNqFdaD34

Play & Learn

Building & Crafts

Feed the Shark Play-Doh Geometry: https://leftbraincraftbrain.com/feed-shark-play-dough-geometry/
20 Fun Shark Week Crafts for Kids: https://www.aboutamom.com/fun-shark-week-crafts-for-kids/
Shark4Kids Crafts: https://www.sharks4kids.com/crafts-for-kids
Shark Themed Activities for Shark Week: https://theeducatorsspinonit.com/sharks-themed-activities-for-shark-week/
Super Simple Shark Headband: https://www.simpleeverydaymom.com/shark-headband-craft/
Origami Shark Bookmark: https://www.easypeasyandfun.com/shark-corner-bookmark/

Experiments

How Do Sharks Float? https://littlebinsforlittlehands.com/shark-science-activity-floating-buoyancy/

Fun Activities (coloring pages, word searches, etc.)

Shark coloring sheets with facts: https://www.sharks4kids.com/shark-coloring-sheets
More shark coloring sheets: http://www.supercoloring.com/coloring-pages/fish/sharks
Shark Week crossword puzzle: https://celebrating-family.com/shark-week-activity/
Types of Sharks word search: https://thewordsearch.com/puzzle/43/types-of-shark/

Trivia

Shark Trivia!: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1axxPoOB295lqFRAgaSWzaA7cj8142Wicv7CWeokCJyA/edit?usp=sharing
National Geographic Kids Shark Quiz: https://kids.nationalgeographic.com/games/quizzes/article/quiz-whiz-sharks

Project Ideas

https://www.thoughtco.com/sharks-science-fair-project-2610907
Draw a picture of a shark and label all of its body parts.
Compare the sizes of various sharks by creating to-scale drawings or models of several species.

Research shark teeth to determine how they are perfect for hunting and eating shark’s prey. Then create your own shark tooth necklace! https://kidsactivitiesblog.com/126227/shark-teeth-necklace/

Hours: Monday - Thursday: 10am - 8pm
Friday & Saturday 10am - 5pm
Sunday 1pm-5pm