Archive | Science Adventures

Science Sunday – the Polar World

Science Sunday: The Polar World The North Pole is located at the top of the Earth. The Arctic area consists of the Arctic Ocean and parts of Canada, Russia, the United States, Greenland, Norway, Finland, Sweden, and Iceland. Temperatures as low as -70 degrees Celsius have been recorded in Northern Greenland. Arctic ice contains approximately […]

Continue Reading

Science Sunday – Food Science

Food Science – Floating and Sinking (Density & Buoyancy) Molecules are groups of atoms that are bonded together. Density relates to how tightly or loosely packed an object’s molecules are. Materials with more density weigh more. For example, jelly beans have more mass than marshmallows because marshmallows contain a great deal of air. So a […]

Continue Reading

Science Sunday – Bats

Science Sunday: Bats Bats live all over the world and are very important to the ecosystem. As bats drink nectar from inside flowers, they pick up pollen and move it from plant to plant. This is called pollination. Bats also spread seeds from trees and bushes. Plants that are a food source for humans, such […]

Continue Reading

Science Sunday – Creepy Crawlies

Science Sunday: Creepy Crawlies Although they may look strange to humans, creepy crawlies such as insects, millipedes, spiders, snails and slugs do a great deal to help the environment. They: Pollinate many fruits, flowers, and vegetables. Produce honey, beeswax, silk, and other products used by people. Prey on and reduce pest populations of other insects […]

Continue Reading

Science Sunday – Sharks

Read About It Florida Museum at the University of Florida https://www.floridamuseum.ufl.edu/discover-fish/sharks/ Smithsonian Institute https://ocean.si.edu/ocean-life/sharks-rays/sharks National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration https://www.fisheries.noaa.gov/feature-story/dive-shark-week-2021 10 Facts About Great White Sharks https://www.natgeokids.com/uk/discover/animals/sea-life/great-white-sharks/ Georgia Aquarium: https://www.georgiaaquarium.org/sharks/ Watch, Listen & Learn University of Oregon’s Museum of Natural & Cultural History. Includes a shark storytime read-aloud, instructions for an Ocean Suncatcher craft and […]

Continue Reading

Science Sunday – The Digestive System

If it’s Science Sunday, it’s time to learn! This month’s topic is the Digestive System. Read About It Why Do I Burp? https://kidshealth.org/en/kids/burp.html Your Digestive System: https://kidshealth.org/en/kids/digestive-system.html Your Digestive System and How It Works: https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/digestive-diseases/digestive-system-how-it-works Human Digestive System: https://www.natgeokids.com/uk/discover/science/general-science/your-digestive-system/ Mayo Clinic: follow the steps to see how your Digestive System works: https://www.mayoclinic.org/digestive-system/sls-20076373 Watch, Listen & […]

Continue Reading

Science Sunday – Rivers

Science Sunday: Rivers Read About It Fascinating Facts About Rivers: https://www.natgeokids.com/uk/home-is-good/fascinating-facts-about-rivers/ Kids Discover Rivers: https://kidsdiscover.com/spotlight/rivers-kids/ World’s Longest Rivers: https://www.usgs.gov/special-topic/water-science-school/science/rivers-world-worlds-longest-rivers?qt-science_center_objects=0#qt-science_center_objects Longest Rivers of the World: https://www.sciencekids.co.nz/sciencefacts/topten/longestrivers.html Mississippi River Facts: https://www.nps.gov/miss/riverfacts.htm Spotlight: The Amazon: https://kidsdiscover.com/spotlight/the-amazon-for-kids/?epik=dj0yJnU9cVZsQV9vcXJWa2RLcEdybS1qX1Nib1Ixb2hMSWpfQ0cmcD0wJm49YlpHS0J6dmpGV0RXeWZNU0VRejYwZyZ0PUFBQUFBR0NmMVdj The Nile River: https://www.nationalgeographic.org/encyclopedia/nile-river/ Map of Connecticut Rivers: https://geology.com/lakes-rivers-water/connecticut.shtml Map of United States Rivers: https://gisgeography.com/lakes-rivers-map-united-states/ When Rivers are Borders: https://earthobservatory.nasa.gov/images/147238/when-rivers-are-borders How Rivers […]

Continue Reading

Hours: Monday - Thursday: 10am - 8pm
Friday & Saturday 10am - 5pm
Sunday 1pm-5pm