Archive | Science Adventures

Science Sunday – Bats

Science Sunday: Bats Bats live all over the world and are very important to the ecosystem. As bats drink nectar from inside flowers, they pick up pollen and move it from plant to plant. This is called pollination. Bats also spread seeds from trees and bushes. Plants that are a food source for humans, such […]

Continue Reading

Science Sunday – Creepy Crawlies

Science Sunday: Creepy Crawlies Although they may look strange to humans, creepy crawlies such as insects, millipedes, spiders, snails and slugs do a great deal to help the environment. They: Pollinate many fruits, flowers, and vegetables. Produce honey, beeswax, silk, and other products used by people. Prey on and reduce pest populations of other insects […]

Continue Reading

Science Sunday – Sharks

Read About It Florida Museum at the University of Florida https://www.floridamuseum.ufl.edu/discover-fish/sharks/ Smithsonian Institute https://ocean.si.edu/ocean-life/sharks-rays/sharks National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration https://www.fisheries.noaa.gov/feature-story/dive-shark-week-2021 10 Facts About Great White Sharks https://www.natgeokids.com/uk/discover/animals/sea-life/great-white-sharks/ Georgia Aquarium: https://www.georgiaaquarium.org/sharks/ Watch, Listen & Learn University of Oregon’s Museum of Natural & Cultural History. Includes a shark storytime read-aloud, instructions for an Ocean Suncatcher craft and […]

Continue Reading

Science Sunday – The Digestive System

If it’s Science Sunday, it’s time to learn! This month’s topic is the Digestive System. Read About It Why Do I Burp? https://kidshealth.org/en/kids/burp.html Your Digestive System: https://kidshealth.org/en/kids/digestive-system.html Your Digestive System and How It Works: https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/digestive-diseases/digestive-system-how-it-works Human Digestive System: https://www.natgeokids.com/uk/discover/science/general-science/your-digestive-system/ Mayo Clinic: follow the steps to see how your Digestive System works: https://www.mayoclinic.org/digestive-system/sls-20076373 Watch, Listen & […]

Continue Reading

Science Sunday – Rivers

Science Sunday: Rivers Read About It Fascinating Facts About Rivers: https://www.natgeokids.com/uk/home-is-good/fascinating-facts-about-rivers/ Kids Discover Rivers: https://kidsdiscover.com/spotlight/rivers-kids/ World’s Longest Rivers: https://www.usgs.gov/special-topic/water-science-school/science/rivers-world-worlds-longest-rivers?qt-science_center_objects=0#qt-science_center_objects Longest Rivers of the World: https://www.sciencekids.co.nz/sciencefacts/topten/longestrivers.html Mississippi River Facts: https://www.nps.gov/miss/riverfacts.htm Spotlight: The Amazon: https://kidsdiscover.com/spotlight/the-amazon-for-kids/?epik=dj0yJnU9cVZsQV9vcXJWa2RLcEdybS1qX1Nib1Ixb2hMSWpfQ0cmcD0wJm49YlpHS0J6dmpGV0RXeWZNU0VRejYwZyZ0PUFBQUFBR0NmMVdj The Nile River: https://www.nationalgeographic.org/encyclopedia/nile-river/ Map of Connecticut Rivers: https://geology.com/lakes-rivers-water/connecticut.shtml Map of United States Rivers: https://gisgeography.com/lakes-rivers-map-united-states/ When Rivers are Borders: https://earthobservatory.nasa.gov/images/147238/when-rivers-are-borders How Rivers […]

Continue Reading

Science Sunday – Rainforests

Science Sunday: Rainforests Read About It Rainforest Animals: Rainforest Alliance: National Geographic: Cal Tech: San Diego Zoo:   Rainforest Biome: Layers of the rainforest: Location of the world’s rainforests: Habitat Facts from National Geographic: University of California Santa Barbara: DK: National Zoo:  BBC: Fun Rainforest Facts for Kids: Preserving Rainforests: http://www.srl.caltech.edu/personnel/krubal/rainforest/Edit560s6/www/preserve.html Watch, Listen & Learn […]

Continue Reading

Kids Books You May Have Missed – Nonfiction Science Books

NONFICTION SCIENCE BOOKS Awesome animals! Scientific achievements… Health and safety news… Facts about Earth and beyond… Computers and other contraptions… If you love learning about our world and everything in it, we can help you find a book that suits your interests. Come to the Stratford Library Children’s Department and check out a new NONFICTION […]

Continue Reading

Science Sunday – Our Solar System

Science Sunday: Our Solar System Science Sundays are back! Once a month, the Children’s page will list resources, links, and fun on a different science topic. Enjoy learning about our solar system! Read About It NASA Space Place: https://spaceplace.nasa.gov/  Fun Space Facts for Kids: https://www.sciencekids.co.nz/sciencefacts/space.html  Fun Solar System Facts for Kids: https://www.sciencekids.co.nz/sciencefacts/space/solarsystem.html  National Geographic Kids […]

Continue Reading

School Support Tip – STEAM-based programs

The Stratford Library offers many STEAM (science, technology, engineering, art, mathematics) related programs, encouraging children’s interest and learning in a fun, interactive way. Science, Technology, & Engineering Programs Science Camp (ages 5-8) Mad Science programs (grades 2-6) Coding Club (grades 3-6) Astronomy Club (grades 3-6) Miss Melissa’s Science Videos (all ages) Science Sundays (grades 3-6) […]

Continue Reading

Hours: Monday - Thursday: 10am - 8pm
Friday & Saturday 10am - 5pm
Sunday 1pm-5pm