Science Sunday – Winter Weather

Science Sunday: Winter Weather

iceWinter can be a fun time to go skiing, sledding, and ice skating; to build snowmen and snow forts; and to have snowball fights. Those of us in the northern part of the United States often experience cold temperatures, freezing rain, snow, and ice. Sometimes we even have a snow day which cancels school. It’s fascinating to learn more about snow and other types of winter weather.

See if you can answer these questions using the resources linked below: (This type of investigation is called a “webquest”, and you often learn loads of other information while searching for the answers to specific questions.)

  • How do snowflakes form?
  • What part of the Earth has no seasons? Why?
  • Explain why the South Pole is colder than the North Pole even though both poles get the same amount of sunlight.
  • What is the name of the world’s largest glacier and where is it located? How big is it?
  • Explain the difference between freezing rain and sleet.
  • What do scientists use to determine if an expected combination of cold temperatures and wind will cause a person’s skin to freeze?
  • What is the difference between “snow showers” and “snow squalls”?
  • Name at least three things that a snowstorm must have in order to be classified as a “blizzard”.
  • Of “Winter Weather Watch”, “Winter Weather Warning”, and “Winter Weather Advisory” which is the most serious and requires that you take immediate action?
  • Develop a winter safety plan for your family’s car and home. What would you include in the plan to protect yourself and your pets?

snow plowRead About It

Time for Kids: Winter Weather: https://www.timeforkids.com/k1/winter-weather/
How Do Snowflakes Form? https://scijinks.gov/snowflakes/
What Causes the Seasons?: University of Illinois Tree House Weather Kids: https://web.extension.illinois.edu/treehouse/seasons.cfm?Slide=1
“Which Pole is Colder?”, NASA Climate Kids: https://climatekids.nasa.gov/polar-temperatures/
“Ten Interesting Things About Glaciers”, NASA Climate Kids: https://climatekids.nasa.gov/10-things-glaciers/
Definitions of Winter Weather: https://www.ready.gov/kids/disaster-facts/winter-weather
Wind Chill: University of Illinois Tree House Weather Kids: https://web.extension.illinois.edu/treehouse/seasons.cfm?Slide=13
Winter Storms: https://scied.ucar.edu/learning-zone/storms/winter-storms
Scholastic Weather Watch – Winter Weather: https://www.weather.gov/safety/winter-ground-blizzard
Severe Weather 101: https://www.nssl.noaa.gov/education/svrwx101/winter/types/
Blizzards: https://www.nationalgeographic.org/encyclopedia/blizzard/
Staying Safe in Winter:
Red Cross: https://www.redcross.org/get-help/how-to-prepare-for-emergencies/types-of-emergencies/winter-storm.html
Scholastic: https://teacher.scholastic.com/activities/wwatch/winter_storms/index.htm
Kidshealth: https://kidshealth.org/en/parents/winter-safety.html

snowy fieldWatch & Learn

Science BrainPop Jr. Winter Weather: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-50zYZ9ZjPo
What Is A Blizzard: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BpBtRmTmbqQ
How a Weather Forecast Is Made: https://scijinks.gov/how-a-weather-forecast-is-made/
Meet JPSS, high tech weather satellites: https://scijinks.gov/jpss/

Play & Learn
Experiments

Scholastic’s Winter Weather Experiments (DIY Snow Crystals; Frozen Bubbles, Snow Prediction, Mitten Magic, & Blubber Glove): https://www.scholastic.com/parents/family-life/parent-child/cold-weather-experiments.html
Snowman Eruption: https://www.123homeschool4me.com/snowman-eruptions-simple-winter-science-experiment/
21 Winter Science Experiments for Kids: https://littlebinsforlittlehands.com/winter-science-ideas-kids/
Be a Weather Reporter! How to Measure and Report Freezing Precipitation to the National Weather Service: https://www.weather.gov/rnk/Measure_Icing

corgi in snowGames

Precipitation Simulator (Make it snow!) https://scijinks.gov/precipitation-type/
Juggle Snow Pellets and Make Lightning: https://scijinks.gov/zap-game/
Dress for the Weather: https://www.abcya.com/games/dress_for_the_weather
Clouds Memory Game: https://scied.ucar.edu/interactive/clouds-memory-game
Sid the Science Kid “Weather Surprise”: https://pbskids.org/sid/games/weather-surprise
Build an Emergency Kit Game: https://www.ready.gov/build-kit-game
Grow Snow Crystals: https://scijinks.gov/snow-crystals/

Fun Activities

Crafts
Make your own fake snow: https://www.goodhousekeeping.com/holidays/christmas-ideas/g34004079/winter-crafts/?slide=28
Snow Slime: https://www.preschoolplayandlearn.com/winter-snow-slime-recipe-kids-activities/
Snow Candy: https://www.123homeschool4me.com/historical-winter-activity-for-kids-how_79/
30 Fun Winter Crafts: https://www.diyncrafts.com/32296/home/parenting/30-fun-winter-crafts-keep-kids-busy-indoors-cold-outside
Coffee Filter Painted Snowflakes: https://artfulparent.com/coffee-filters-make-the-best-snowflakes/
16 Easy Winter Crafts for Kids:
https://www.artycraftykids.com/seasonal/16-easy-winter-crafts-kids/

aerial photo of snowy treesWinter Coloring Pages
https://www.123homeschool4me.com/winter-coloring-sheets-free_74/
http://www.supercoloring.com/coloring-pages/nature-seasons/winter
https://www.bestcoloringpagesforkids.com/winter-coloring-pages.html

Winter Dot to Dot: https://www.bigactivities.com/ctd/winter/index.php

Winter Weather Word Search: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1TO8KN1o8Fc9sZ3k2TwX5jUgkdJU3ms5D/view?usp=sharing

Hours: Monday - Thursday: 10am - 8pm
Friday & Saturday 10am - 5pm
Sunday 1pm-5pm