Science Sunday – Ecology and National Parks

Ecology and Our National Parks

On this Science Sunday, we will learn all about the environment, ecology, and the National Parks of the United States!

hikerRead About It
Mr. Nussbaum United States National Parks: https://mrnussbaum.com/usa/national-parks
National Park Service: Find a Park: https://www.nps.gov/findapark/index.htm
Kids & Youth: Yellowstone: https://www.nps.gov/yell/learn/kidsyouth/index.htm
How Mountains Are Made: https://wonderopolis.org/wonder/how-are-mountains-made
DK Find Out: Mountains: https://www.dkfindout.com/us/earth/mountains/
DK Find Out: Land Habitats: https://www.dkfindout.com/us/animals-and-nature/habitats-and-ecosystems/land-habitats/
Wildlife Encounters: Habitat: https://vetmed.illinois.edu/wildlifeencounters/k4/k4_home.html
Kids Do Ecology (in English): http://kids.nceas.ucsb.edu/ecology/ecoindex.html
Kids Do Ecology (in Spanish): http://kids.nceas.ucsb.edu/sp/

Watch, Listen & Learn
National Park Service – Welcome to Your National Parks: https://www.nps.gov/media/video/view.htm%3Fid%3DFFE6C27D-A5B1-D332-806A4F9D91212C0A
Webcams from the National Parks: https://www.nps.gov/media/multimedia-search.htm#fq%5B%5D=Type%3A%22Webcam%22
Video: Bill Nye the Science Guy: Food Web clip: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-YwW-iWxLr4
Video: Bill Nye the Science Guy: Insects clip:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FC8A8B2Myqs
Video: Top 13 U.S. National Parks: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tOHZ1mcAK8s
Video: The Kid Should See This: Redwoods: https://thekidshouldseethis.com/post/mtjp-redwood-more-than-just-parks

Play & Learn
Experiments 
Geyser Eruption: https://www.sciencekids.co.nz/experiments/dietcokementos.html
Vinegar Volcano: https://www.sciencekids.co.nz/experiments/vinegarvolcano.html
Seed Germination: https://www.sciencekids.co.nz/experiments/seedgermination.html
Microscopic Creatures in Water: https://www.sciencekids.co.nz/experiments/microscopiccreatures.html

Gamesutah national park
Food Chains: https://www.sciencekids.co.nz/gamesactivities/foodchains.html
Smithsonian Science Habitats Game: https://ssec.si.edu/habitats
National Zoo Migration Game: https://nationalzoo.si.edu/migratory-birds/play-migration-game
PBS Kids Plum Landing: https://pbskids.org/plumlanding/
PBS Kids Nature Games: https://pbskids.org/games/nature/

Fun Activities
National Park Service Junior Ranger Online activities: https://www.nps.gov/kids/index.htm
Junior Ranger Books and Virtual Badges:
https://www.nps.gov/kids/junior-rangers.htm
National Park Foundation Kids: https://www.nationalparks.org/our-work/programs/npf-kids
National Parks from National Geographic Kids: https://kids.nationalgeographic.com/explore/nature/national-parks/
How Does the EPA Protect the Environment Activity Book: https://www.epa.gov/students/how-does-epa-protect-environment-activity-book-children
National Institute of Environmental Health Science: Jokes, mazes, puzzles, riddles, brainteasers, and more: https://kids.niehs.nih.gov/games/index.htm
Yellowstone Park for Kids: https://www.nps.gov/yell/learn/kidsyouth/index.htm
National Geographic Kids: https://kids.nationalgeographic.com/

Coloring Sheets
Environmental Coloring Pages: https://coloringhome.com/environmental-coloring-pages
Environmental Theme Coloring Pages: http://www.first-school.ws/theme/coloring-pages/environmental.htm
Crayola Environmental Coloring Sheets: https://www.crayola.com/free-coloring-pages/science/environmental-coloring-pages/

Hours: Mon.-Sat. 10-5